Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel

Sleeping Giants Description

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

My Review of Sleeping Giants

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files, #1)Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I liked the ideas but I don’t think the format worked. The author seemed to be aiming for a media / report style like World War Z, but then he was trying to tell the story normally within that by having the characters explain things that have happened to them to an interviewer. Sometimes the interviewer is on the phone with a person as they are doing something.

It’s an odd in between compromise that I felt didn’t work well. We’re removed from the action so it’s hard to feel involved, but we’re not getting the exciting, dramatic media reports about it. There’s no build up of tension and no atmosphere to it.

I enjoyed the science parts and the bits where they are working with or researching the robot, deciphering the symbols and trying to activate and control it.

Those bits were interesting to read, but overall there was too much soap opera relationship drama and not enough giant robot. It was all a bit dull, and how can a book with a giant robot in it be dull!?

None of the main characters were interesting either, the interviewer is an arrogant, pedantic nitpicker who started to grate on my nerves about halfway though.

Kara starts out like she might be ok but quickly degenerates into acting like a teenager.

Dr Rose was barely in it but when she did show up she was just used as the mothering type and not a scientist in her own right.

I also found it hard to keep track of the timeline. It felt like everything happened in about 2 months, but I think it was more like 2 years?

It’s not that it’s a bad book, the writing is ok, the sci-fi side is interesting, and it’s not too long. It just had the potential to be a lot better.

I wouldn’t go out of my way for the sequel but I might read it if someone else passed it on to me.

Sleeping Giants
Themis Files
Sylvain Neuvel
Sci-Fi
April 26th 2016

Leave a Reply